by sophie

Image

at my 4th birthday party, pittsburgh, pa

i am grateful that i have a family who keeps two shelves full of photo albums. i want to make a commitment to printing photographs and starting to have albums again. i stopped in college, the last photographs I put in an album being maybe of a trip i took to see my friend gary card in london. the photographs were of regular things, snapshots of flowers, the two of us at a club, in a park. the great london eye, some shots along the river, a picture of a sign reading “diversion” instead of “detour.” it’s easy to have hundreds of pictures online. but there was something special tonight about puling out the albums, sitting on the couch between my sister and my father, turning the pages, engaging together physically in the act of remembering.  happy thanksgiving, chickadees. getting cold out there. be good to one another. 

