CALLING ALL TEENS WRITING POETRY!

by sophie

TeenSequins

Some FAQ:

What is Gigantic Sequins?

Gigantic Sequins is a bi-annual print literary arts journal, which publishes poetry, fiction, non-fiction, book reviews, original artwork, and everything in between. In production since 2009, Gigantic Sequins is sold online and in independent bookstores, and in 2014, was named one of the “top ten American lit mags” by Dazed and Confused Magazine. You can find more about us all over social media, on Twitter, Tumblr, WordPress, and Facebook.

Why are we doing this?

When Robby was 14 years old, he emailed me (then 26) to say that he had found my poetry online, and that I was (to my surprise) his “favorite poet.” He asked if I might read and comment on some of his work. I had never considered that such a young teenager might be reading my poetry; I was surprised by Robby’s maturity and passion, and agreed to offer my perspective. So began a literary relationship founded on mutual respect, and 5 years later, as our individual writing lives grow, we remain inspired by each other. Our relationship has inspired us to reach out to you…

Being a featured poet, or receiving honorable mention, is a distinction that you (or your students, or the teen in your life) could happily include in any college application as evidence of ambition, creativity, and exceptional talent.

See you soon….

